Friday, May 9, 2014

The Falling of Love by Marisa Oldham Release Day!!

Book Description

The Falling series of novels will follow Grace Hathaway through her life into adulthood. As we begin the story, Grace is a typical teenage girl, living in the small town of Oceanview, Oregon. Captain of the cheer squad at her local high school, an artist, and beloved sibling. Her world is drastically changed when she meets and falls in love with Ian Taylor, a rebel, rocker, misfit, seventeen-year-old boy who is new to Oceanview. Ian takes Grace's world by storm as the two fall madly in love. Due to Ian's troubled past, the Hathaway family welcomes Ian into their home and things take a dramatic turn for the worse. Follow Grace and Ian as they explore their love, heartache, and new adventures in the first installment of The Falling series. (Adult Content - Mature Readers Only)

Grace's Trailer

Ian's Trailer

This is such an amazing and highly emotional love story. What Marisa Oldham has done with this is phenomenal. When I read her book I can't tell you how many times I found myself smiling at the pages, clutching my reader tight as the hardships became harder, and how my chest constricted when things just seemed impossible. It was just so real and beautifully written. 

We begin this story with Grace Hathaway in high school. She is shy, quiet and enjoys working on her art. Her sister Michelle is the loud flamboyant one. They lost their parents 7 years before and are being raised by their older brother James, who is a truck driver to support them. The day Grace sees Ian her world stood still. He wasn't like any boy she has ever seen. He dressed different, he looked different with his long red hair and jewelry, and he acted different. He had her attention from the first moment. Her heart wasn't far behind.

Ian Taylor dreaded starting a new school. All he wanted was getting to LA and starting up his band with his best bud Jaden. When he walked into math class and seen Grace he couldn't believe his eyes. When she talked to him he was shocked that she would. When she went out with him she made his world light up. Ian's family isn't the loving kind like Grace's and when his family problems become worse they open their house and arms to him, but things just aren't that simple.

Their love affair starts off as a sweet teen love and morphs into long lasting love of adults. The ease of teenage romance wears off and things become real for them. Then the hardships kick in and puts a true test to the strength of their love. Will it survive and will it last?

This book was emotionally wrenching and really pulls at you. You get angry, you get furious and you definitely feel sad, but you also feel and see the love between Marisa's characters and you see the confusion her characters are experiencing because of the various hurdles. This is a book you don't want to miss!! The ending is in a word ... POWERFUL!!! I am so glad I had the opportunity to read it and will definitely be in my to be read again list!

The Author

California born Marisa Oldham, now resides in Arizona where she practices her love of writing as a hobby. Writing is a new passion of hers and she plans to continue writing past just the novels in the Falling series.
Marisa finds inspiration for writing her novels in her family, friends, and the world around her. She is currently working on two new novels.

Marisa Discussing The Falling of Love

1 comment:

  1. Thank you so much for such a great blog post! I'm so glad that you enjoyed this book and I can't wait for you to read book two!