Pages

Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Sarah Robinson's Breaking A Legend ↳Review, Guest Post & Giveaway↲


Enter to Win a 
Select Loveswept Ebook Bundle


BREAKING A LEGEND
Kavanagh Legends #1
Sarah Robinson
Released Sept 29th, 2015
Loveswept


Perfect for fans of Katy Evans and Monica Murphy, Sarah Robinson’s blistering-hot series debut introduces the Kavanagh brothers—mixed martial arts fighters who work hard, play hard, and love with all their hearts.

As one of the big names at his family’s gym, Legends, MMA star Rory Kavanagh is used to being in the spotlight—until a gruesome leg injury knocks him out of the cage. Rory is left feeling sidelined in more ways than one, battling the inner demons that come with losing the one shot at his dreams. Then Clare walks into his life and gives him a new dream: winning her heart. There aren’t many new faces in Woodlawn these days, but this tough, beautiful stranger makes Rory want to get his life back into fighting shape.

Clare Ivers doesn’t think she’ll be able to tell anyone what really brought her to the close-knit Bronx neighborhood where she just started bartending. But her life’s on pause and her past is catching up fast, try as she might to move on—with new friends, steady work, and a chiseled alpha male trying to get her attention. Even though Rory’s more than a little intense, she can’t deny that her heart beats faster when he looks at her with those soulful silver eyes. Clare thought she was done with love, but Rory might just be man enough to show her she thought wrong.

BUY NOW
Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo




Breaking a Legend was in two words freaking fantastic!! I am so in love with Rory and his dog Ace I want to pull him straight off my Kindle and keep him forever! I have admitted a few times in several reviews that I love the broken and Rory is broken and in need of a bit of fixing, but so is Clare the woman who intrigued him enough to crawl out of the bottle and toss the pills he has been taking. These two characters were so amazing. They were real and they were painful. They hurt and they made me want to cry. They made me want to scream. They needed each other.

Rory is unable to do what he loved because of a bad fight so he turned to drugs and alcohol rather than find something else to love. Clare is taking self defense classes at Legends, Rory's family MMA club, because she wants to be able to handle herself in case her abusive ex-boyfriend finds her. This is the start of their story and the beginning of their fight to be together. It isn't easy and it isn't pretty, but boy does it get hot!

I loved the family and the loyalty and I can not wait for their books!! The story progresses at a steady pace and it is so hard to put down for anything but my kids. The descriptions and character building between everyone is flawless. Ace, Rory's dog even plays on emotions and brings a lot to the book. I can not extol the virtues of this book enough it is a must read for romance lovers. I would give it way more than 5 stars if possible. I highly recommend it.






Well, if it isn’t our long-lost brother,” a familiar voice said a few minutes later, as he meandered into the neighborhood bar that everyone he knew frequented. A hand clasped his shoulder. “Shit, Rory, where the hell have you been?”
Rory inwardly groaned as he turned to face his younger brother, Quinn Kavanagh. Rory wanted to wipe Quinn’s smug smirk off with his fist. He had been sporting that same cocky attitude since the moment he popped into this world, a trait that Rory found uniquely irritating.
Now I remember why I’ve been avoiding this bar, Rory thought as he forced a smile at his brother.
“Just stopping in for a quick drink, Quinn,” Rory said, attempting to make clear that he wasn’t interested in socializing.
He headed over to the long wooden bar that wrapped around two sides of the small pub and stood before walls of liquor bottles and televisions. Several bartenders moved around swiftly, filling drink orders and talking with the full crowd that O’Leary’s always attracted on weekend nights. Rory found an empty stool down at one end, far away from the door, and quickly staked his claim.
He saw Cian, who had worked at O’Leary’s for as long as he could remember, and nodded his head to him. Cian nodded back and put up his hand, indicating he would be over in a minute, as he finished serving the group of college-aged kids at that end of the bar. The door to the kitchen swung open and a short, petite blonde ambled through carrying a large bucket of ice that seemed much too heavy for her small frame to manage.
Rory smiled slightly as he lifted one eyebrow, watching her with interest while she carefully poured the ice over the liquor bottles that sat in a metal bin below the bar’s surface. She huffed and her face was slightly red at the task, but she still managed to completely empty the bucket’s contents evenly around each of the glass bottles.
He took advantage of her being distracted by her task to stare at her shapely legs, which disappeared under a short skirt barely longer than her small apron. Her skin was delicately pale and smooth, and he wondered what it would feel like to slide his fingers up the length of those legs. His eyes traveled up her body, disappointed that the thick, blond ringlets dangling halfway down her back were also hiding most of her face as she leaned over the bar. He wanted to see her perfectly sloped nose, catch her eyes with his, and see what her small pink lips would look like when they smiled.
Something about this woman was intriguing him, although he couldn’t pinpoint what.
Her work completed, she exhaled loudly and plopped the empty bucket at her feet, taking a breather. Rory chuckled lightly, finally grabbing her attention.
“You laughing at me?” She put her hands on her hips, daring him to make fun of her.
Her eyes narrowed as she spoke, but he was still able to catch a glimpse of the dazzling emerald color that contrasted against her light skin and golden hair so perfectly.
“Wouldn’t dream of it, mhuirnín.” A smile spread across his face as he watched her saunter over to him, her full, pink lips tightly pressed together in irritation.
“What’s that mean?” she asked when she reached him, standing across the bar with her arms folded across her chest and one hip tilted higher than the other. Her tone was defiant and he loved the feisty spirit she exuded.
Mhuirnín? You’re all questions today. I’ll answer your question, if you answer mine.” Rory concentrated on keeping his speech normal and not slurring his words. He might have had a bit more to drink tonight than he had intended.
She turned away from him, looking back down the length of the bar and drumming her fingers on its surface.
Rory could sense her nervousness. He already missed her green gaze and silently begged her to turn back to him. There was something about her that stirred a protective instinct in him, a feeling entirely foreign toward anyone who wasn’t family. She was smiling, but there was an undercurrent of pain breaking through her friendliness.
He didn’t like it.
“I guess that’s fair,” she relented, turning back to him and leaning against the wall.
“I haven’t seen you here before. What’s your name?” His question was simple, but the desire in his eyes was not as he licked his bottom lip and admired how perfectly her uniform hugged her curves, even on her small figure.
“Clare Ivers. I’m new in town. Needed a job.” She shrugged, not divulging much, but he felt a sliver of hope when he saw that the smile on her face had yet to disappear.
He knew that she could feel his attraction toward her when he saw the blush creep up her cheeks. The smile she couldn’t push away told him she was enjoying their banter as much as he was.
Despite her clear interest, there was a hint of disapproval as he watched her eyes roam over his torso. It was a look he was way too familiar with from the last year. Rory worried he might be slurring his words or sounding more drunk than he felt.
Wouldn’t be the first time, he thought.
“Your turn.” She pointed at him, biting the corner of her lip in an attempt to hide her smile.
Mhuirnín means sweetheart. If you’re going to work in Woodlawn, Clare, you gotta learn some Irish.”

“Is that right? I guess I’ll have to find a good tutor then,” she taunted, before turning on her heels and sauntering off.



Myth: You Must Write Billionaire Romances.
Truth: Write whatever makes you happy!

Money is the root of all evil, and evil is a great thing to have in any book. Reading is also a mean to escape into a world you might never be able to experience on your own, so a book about millionaires and billionaires can be the perfect fantasy for that. Whether you write a book celebrating or denouncing riches, it can be the perfect conflict or support to any story. However, is it mandatory? Definitely not!

There are tons of stories with down on their luck characters that stick in your hearts, or books about blue collar lives that make you warm and fuzzy. When writing BREAKING A LEGEND, I knew the Kavanagh family would have to have money due to their ties to the Irish mafia, as well as the fact that they owned a highly successful mixed martial arts gym.

I also knew that I wasn’t interested in writing about rich characters who can flaunt their money, or live in the lap of luxury. I’ve never lived that way, it’s not something I’m familiar with, and it’s not something I’ve ever really dreamed of either. I love characters who are happy just the way they are with what they have. Their happiness is found in each other and the love around them, rather than the gold roof over their head. 

That’s where the Kavanagh family takes a unique turn from other stories. This family has more money than we’ll ever know, yet they live on a tiny percent of it. The rest is donated to charities and the community, and keeping businesses they believe in alive. They live in simple homes that certainly aren’t poor, but aren’t mansions either. They value education and hard work, and giving back. Each novel in the KAVANAGH LEGENDS series has a different philanthropic theme to it because of this.

In Rory’s novel, BREAKING A LEGEND, he is quite wealthy from the success of his fighting career back in the day. However, he puts that back into the community by volunteering and working with a down and out animal rescue shelter that takes in ex-fighter dogs who need to be retrained and rehabilitated. He doesn’t just write them a check, he gets down in the trenches with them and donates his time as well. To me, that’s a true romance hero- a man who takes action and gives of himself in every possible way.

My hope with this entire series would be too show that money doesn’t have anything to do with happiness, but if you do have it, do something good with it. Always be doing something good for someone else, because that’s true happiness. That’s why we read romance, to be happy and to fall in love. My characters will always be role models for that. 



a Rafflecopter giveaway




Sarah Robinson is the bestselling author of The Photographer Trilogy and the Sand & Clay rock star series. A native of Washington, D.C., Robinson has both her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in criminal psychology. She is married to a local police officer who is just as much of an animal rescue enthusiast as she is. Together, they own a zoo of rescue and foster animals.




2 comments:

  1. Thanks for your review, I loved it!! Thanks for letting me do a guest post too!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was my pleasure! I absolutely LOVED this book! It brought out some serious emotions all across the board!! Fantastic book! Thank you for allowing me this opportunity to review Breaking a Legend. I can NOT wait for the next book!

      Delete