Pages

Friday, April 28, 2017

Tessa Bailey's Too Hard to Forget ⋦Review & Giveaway⋧



TOO HARD TO FORGET
by: Tessa Bailey
Series: Romancing The Clarksons, #3
On Sale: April 25, 2017
Publisher: Forever
Mass Market: $7.99 USD
eBook: $5.99 USD

The third book in New York Times bestselling author Tessa Bailey's Romancing the Clarksons series about four siblings on a cross-country road trip, perfect for fans of Gena Showalter and Julie James!

This time, she's calling the shots.

Peggy Clarkson is returning to her alma mater with one goal in mind: confront Elliott Brooks, the man who ruined her for all others, and remind him of what he's been missing. Even after three years, seeing him again is like a punch in the gut, but Peggy's determined to stick to her plan. Maybe then, once she has the upper hand, she'll finally be able to move on.

In the years since Peggy left Cincinnati, Elliott has kept his focus on football. No distractions and no complications. But when Peggy walks back onto his practice field and into his life, he knows she could unravel everything in his carefully controlled world. Because the girl who was hard to forget is now a woman impossible to resist.

BUY THE BOOK HERE


When this book was titled it was given the perfect name. I have read This series from the beginning and in each book we get a small picture of Peggy and what her problem is. I have been looking forward each new book because I know it will give me a bit more. With each piece given from the previous two books I could only guess at what occurred between her and Elliot, it wasn't enough. All I will say is I was not ready! 

Elliot nearly did me in. I was ready to mentally take a stapler to his man bits. I have become quite attached to Peggy over the course of this series and I felt terrible when they met up. He worked hard not only to convince me but to also change things. You are warned he starts off as a jerk but becomes redeemable. Peggy grows so much in this book, she had already started from the first book going forward, but in this one she blossomed. The heat level of this is scorching hot. Make sure to have a cold beverage handy. 

I don't know if I can choose a favorite now with the three books out. They were all so good. I cannot wait for Belmont's book. He has been the biggest puzzle of all of the siblings and I itch to see what is going inside that quiet man. I just hope I survive him! I highly recommend this book and most definitely this series.



Top 5 List 
What have been your top 5 things to research for this series so far?

Research! My least favorite part! LOL. Can’t we skip to the smooching? All jokes aside, researching this road trip series has been a total joy, because I get to explore a new town each time!

1.     MAPS. So many maps. I needed to get the Clarksons from San Diego to New York, while sending them through interesting towns along the way. Here is the hard part: sometimes I have a specific idea of a town in my head, then I have to find one that matches. Which leads to hours of a map/Wikipedia split screen.
2.     FOOD. In the first Clarksons book, Rita is a chef and her nemesis is a soufflé. I spent a lot of time watching souffles being cooked on Youtube. But I didn’t even bother trying to make one myself, because I would have failed so hard. I’m a writer, not a chef.
3.     POLITICS. I know, right? Everyone’s favorite topic! LOL. In the second book, Aaron, my politician hero, falls in love with on off-limits Senator’s daughter during campaign season. I watched a lot of VEEP on HBO to research terminology. I thought it was a good fit since the Clarksons series also has a healthy dose of humor.
4.     CAVES. What? Weird, right? There is a scene in TOO HARD TO FORGET where the hero and heroine go on a date in Marengo Cave in Indiana. I wanted to describe it authentically and I ended up falling down the rabbit hole of this amazing landmark.

5.     THE GOLDEN GIRLS. Peggy and Sage (two members of the road trip) love the Golden Girls and constantly quote and reference various episodes. I’m already a major fan of the show, so I didn’t have to do too much research, but when I wanted to remember certain quotes (especially from Blanche), Google was my friend. 


Excerpt
“I don’t know, Peggy.” He whirled on her, closing in until she was forced back onto the desk. “I had an All-American on my squad this morning and now I don’t. That’s all I know.” He pointed a finger toward the window. “I solve problems down on the field. Saving people isn’t my job.”
Saving people. God, there was such a wealth of regret and pain in those two words. But he couldn’t hear it and she couldn’t address it. Letting him know she saw right through his façade to the hurt beneath might force Elliott to close himself off. “You didn’t always limit yourself. Why are you doing it now?”
“Accepting things that can’t be changed isn’t a limitation. It’s realistic.”
“But how will you know if something can’t be changed unless you try?”
“When it comes to certain things, Peggy, trying leads to losing.” He was in her face now, the mint from his toothpaste familiar and inviting where it slid over her lips. “And I don’t lose.”
No one ever stood up this man but her, and she wouldn’t be cowed now. “No? You’re out a receiver.” She hitched herself up on his desk. “I’d call that a loss.”
The tips of his shoes met Peggy’s, his hands gripping the furniture on either side of her hips. “Who do you think you are, little girl? Coming into my office and telling me what I’ve done wrong?” His eyes were brilliant in their vexation, the attraction he was trying so hard to fight. “Where do you get the goddamn bravery?”
“The bravery is what you liked best about me,” she breathed, heat sizzling in a downward V toward her thighs. “Isn’t it?”
“No. That bravery is what almost led to my downfall.” His hands found her bottom, jerking her to the edge of the desk. “I resented it. Still do.”
“Liar,” Peggy whispered, easing her thighs wider. “You’re dying for an excuse to head for another downfall.” When her legs were as open as she could spread them, she leaned up to Elliott’s ear and let her breath shake loose. “One thrust.”
Elliott’s right hand came up out of nowhere, molding over Peggy’s mouth as his hips crowded into the notch of her legs. With a quick maneuver to recline her halfway back, Elliott’s erection found the apex of her thighs, delivering an aggressive pump against her underwear that sent a scream climbing up Peggy’s throat, only to be trapped by his hand. Knees jerking up out of reflex over the rush of sensation, an orgasm almost—almost— broke past the surface, sending her waters rippling out on all sides. Her legs wanted to hug Elliott’s waist, her voice wanted to beg for one more, one more, one more, but he shook his head, denying her, even though his gaze was hot, a low groan issuing from his harshly masculine mouth.

He leaned in and nipped the lobe of her ear. “Next time, ask for two.”



THE ROMANCING THE CLARKSONS SERIES

TOO HOT TO HANDLE, #1
TOO WILD TO TAME, #2
TOO HARD TO FORGET, #3
TOO BEAUTIFUL TO BREAK, #4



ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Tessa Bailey is originally from Carlsbad, California. The day after high school graduation, she packed her yearbook, ripped jeans, and laptop, and drove cross-country to New York City in under four days. Her most valuable life experiences were learned thereafter while waitressing at K-Dees, a Manhattan pub owned by her uncle. Inside those four walls, she met her husband, best friend, and discovered the magic of classic rock, managing to put herself through Kingsborough Community College and the English program at Pace University at the same time. Several stunted attempts to enter the work force as a journalist followed, but romance writing continued to demand her attention.

She now lives in Long Island, New York with her husband and daughter. Although she is severely sleep-deprived, she is incredibly happy to be living her dream of writing about people falling in love. 


FOLLOW FOREVER ONLINE


a Rafflecopter giveaway


No comments:

Post a Comment